Author : Amrik S. Mikko

(ISC)2 Long Island NY Holds 3rd Annual CTF Event!

On Friday, March 29th over 50 cybersecurity students from 7 different colleges on Long Island competed against each other in the (ISC)2 Long Island 3rd annual Capture the Flag competition hosted by New York Tech’s College of Engineering & Computing Sciences.

(ISC)2 is the world’s largest professional cybersecurity organization and the Long Island Chapter is one of the most active chapters in the country. Students from New York Tech, Hofstra University, Suffolk Community College, Nassau Community College, Adelphi University, Stonybrook University, and Farmingdale College all competed against each other to capture 15 different flags (cybersecurity challenges) of varying points to place in the competition. Flags included cybersecurity challenges with topics including cryptography, computer networking, computer programming and data analytics. The top 5 places were secured by Hofstra University, Suffolk Community College, New York Tech, and Stonybrook University.

Team prizes included Beats headphones and Amazon gift cards sponsored by (ISC)2 Long Island and all participants in the full day event received Certificates of Achievement and swag bags from corporate sponsors including Palo Alto,, Cybersafe Solutions, Elteni, Essentire, Transmit Security, Sentinel One, and Silo Smashers. This is the 12th regional cybersecurity competition held by New York Tech, an NSA designated center of academic excellence, and the 2nd hosted in collaboration with (ISC)2 Long Island.

About Us:
(ISC)2 Long Island was founded by a group of information security and technology professionals. We are a member-based organization, tying both professional events as well as educational focus. To learn more, please visit our website at


Let’s Capture The Flag!

LICTF event was great success and we thank everyone who participated — Students, Members and Professors. Special Thanks to schools and their representatives:

Hofstra Coach Dr. Xiang Fu including other Hofstra attendees, Dr. Krishnan Pillaipakkamnatt, Dean Sina Y. Rabbany, Danny Pires and Alex Rosenberg
Suffolk County Community College Coach Jonathan Sadowski, SCCC attendee Dr. Susan Frank
NYIT Coach Dr. Mike Nizich
SUNY Farmingdale Coach Dr. Tarik Eltaeit
Nassau Community College Coach Uzo N. Osuno

And, Finally Susan Frank and the rest of the Education Committee Members for their work.

  • CTF

Scroll to top